top of page

What are the most popular ISO standards used in companies?

Brought to you by IBEC Intelligence

The ISO certifications are the most recognized and preferred in the world. ISO (International Organization for Standards) can be defined as a trusted international symbol of quality. There are several ISO standards out there, often making it difficult for many people to decide what’s best for their businesses. Some ISO standards are industry-focused, whereas the most popular ones are generic and can be implemented in an organization regardless of size or type.

But which ISO standards are the most popular?

ISO 9000 Family - Quality Management

The ISO 9000 family is the world’s best-known quality management standard for companies and organizations of any size. This certification is proof that your organization’s quality management system is up to international standards.

ISO 45000 Family - Occupational Health and Safety

The ISO 45000 family specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system, and gives guidance for its use, to enable organizations to provide safe and healthy workplaces by preventing work-related injury and ill health, as well as by proactively improving its OH&S performance.

ISO 14000 Family - Environmental Management

The ISO 14000 family of standards provides guidance for environmental management to help organizations lower their environmental impact and conform to legal and regulatory requirements.

ISO/IEC 27000 Family - Information Security Management

This family of standards addresses the needs and tools required to keep information assets secure and safe. Providing security for any kind of digital information, the ISO/IEC 27000 family of standards is designed for any size of organization.

ISO 50000 Family - Energy Management

The ISO 50000 is a family of standards for energy management that focus on ensuring efficient energy consumption. It outlines the requirements for identifying, implementing, serving and enhancing an energy management system (EMS). EMS aims at helping organizations minimize their energy consumption.

ISO 22000 Family - Food Safety Management

The ISO 22000 family sets out the requirements for a food safety management system. It maps out what an organization needs to do to demonstrate its ability to control food safety hazards in order to ensure that food is safe. It can be used by any organization regardless of its size or position in the food chain. The most popular ones are ISO 22001 (food and beverages) and ISO 22002 (food manufacturing).

ISO certification is indispensable as it can help improve your marketing, identify risks and opportunities, and improve control over your business. It will also make it easy for you to do business with other companies. To know which standards are applicable and beneficial to your business, schedule a free 30-minute consultation with an IBEC expert.


bottom of page